Had A Long One Last Night

I had a delivery up here in Portland, OR that took 6 hours for them to unload me. Not to mention it cost $405 for them to unload me. We have those from time to time. Yep, the trucking companies sometimes have to pay the place to unload your truck that is loaded with the stuff that they ordered. Crazy huh? The reason for this is that that hire an outside company (lumpers) to do all the loading/unloading & they don’t have to pay for the benefits because they are not actually employed there. Kinda like a temp service.

Alot of our loads are “drop n hook” which means I bring in a loaded trailer, drop it, pick up an empty one & roll on. Every now & then it’s a live one like this & sometimes it takes a while. What makes it take so long is that there may be multiple items & some of these same items on different pallets so it all has to be separated & counted to make sure they got everything before us drivers can get the bills to leave.

Now I’m sitting at our terminal in Portland waiting for a new load to get back to Memphis. I am supposed to be there Tuesday because we (my family & I) are in the middle of moving back to my hometown of Bartlett, TN from Mississippi. We have been down there the last 4 years & I am so glad to be going back home. We are actually gonna be about 2-3 miles from the neighborhood I grew up in. My parents are still in the same house. Anyway, just wanted to check in with you all. Here is a shot of me waiting in line at a mine in Blue Diamond, NV last weekend. Til next time peeps…

IMG_0123

Categories: Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

