Where’s The Beef

Ok, last week sometime I posted a topic to my truck driver’s group on Facebook & it got a great response. I basically said “The guys that pull the cattle trailers probably make alot more money than me, but there is no way that I could pull them knowing that I was taking them on their last ride”. It got a bunch of answers on both sides. One guy said that they are not pets & were raised to be slaughtered. I said that I look at all animals as pets & just couldn’t do it. Hell, I even owned a pet store back in the early 90’s.

A few nights later I was eating at an Arby’s inside of a truck stop & an older gentleman sat down in the booth behind me & we started talking. As it turned out, he was one of the ones that hauls cattle. I told him about my topic & he told me that he doesn’t haul them to be slaughtered…he just hauls bulls to places for breeding. I didn’t think about that or know that was a part of it. This is the first trucking job I have had & only know the rules & things to what I do. I pull a refrigerated trailer & carry food. So, it’s pretty cool to me learning or asking these other guys in trucking about how things go with what they do. We can only be 80,000 lbs total in weight & can slide the tandems (the wheels under the trailer) back & forth to change the weight up. He said that he can max out at 95,000 lbs. I have noticed that their tandems don’t move so I asked him how they get the weight right? He said that in the long time that he has done this, only once did a DOT officer say that he was too heavy in the back. He said he asked the officer, what can I do….go back there & ask the heavier ones to move to the middle? I thought that was funny, but what could you do? He also said that you have to stop at a stockyard every 10 hours & let the cows out to eat & get water & then load them back up to keep rolling. I’m sure it pays pretty good, but that sounds like a alot of work.

Anyway, I just thought it was kinda cool meeting somebody that actually did it to learn some stuff from after posting that topic in my group. I’m gonna leave you all with a shot of some old train tracks that were behind my truck while I was getting loaded in Bonner Springs, KS. Til next time peeps…

20140317-184630.jpg

Categories: Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Where’s The Beef

  1. I see a lot of interesting posts on your page. You have
    to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time,
    there is a tool that creates unique, SEO friendly posts in couple of seconds, just type in google – k2 unlimited content

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

