Part Of Trucking

Back in 2006 til a little into 2009 I was a dispatcher for a trucking company so I know this happens sometimes, but man this load has been messed up from the start. I was sent down to Covington, Tn from Elizabethtown, Ky the other day to pick up a load going to Virginia. Right at 300 miles deadhead (that’s what it’s called when you drive empty to pick up a load). It was a 2:00 pick up. I got there at 1:45 & they told me that they didn’t have anything for me, on that pick-up number anyway. He tells me that he had some loads going out early the next morning but my company would have to make an appointment before he could load me. I got that taken care of, but it was 2:30 in the morning before they started to load me. After all that driving just to pick this up & then had to wait almost 12 hours to get it. Well, I got the load & was ready to roll the two day trip here to Virginia. Sounds better now right? Wrong…I get here today to deliver & the place was closed. Doors locked, lights off, not even a guard shack to check in at. I was told I was just dropping the loaded trailer & grabbing an empty. Just wait, it gets worse.

While on the way over here my dispatcher called & said I was gonna pick up a load at this same place tomorrow morning….see where I’m going with this? If they were closed today, you know damn well they will be tomorrow. So, now it looks like I am stuck at this truck stop til Monday morning with a load on my trailer to deliver & a load to pick up that is actually supposed to deliver tomorrow according to my schedule. Kinda hard to be on time with something when you can’t get it til a day late huh? Somebody really messed up scheduling this one or didn’t pay attention. I did find an old scissor lift sitting out beside the building to get a picture of. Check it out, looks like it has been out there a while. Til next time peeps…

20130824-234531.jpg

Categories: Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Part Of Trucking

  1. They need a gardener real bad….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

